My little terrarium

Is it just me or am I the only one who sings “I am a terrarium” ala “Titanium” (David Guetta) or Robbie’s “cause we know we’re falling from grace, terrarium”. No? It must be just me then. But it does go to show I really like my terrariums. And I’m not the only one.

Terrariums have been en vogue for yonks now. They’ve been popping up in various home magazines and all over the interwebs and popular with young uns and older sophisticates alike. And who can blame them when you can create your own little green world with your own personalised stamp.

It’s been only relatively recently that I cast my hands into making some. I’m not the most green fingered person I know even though I love plants and flowers. I find with terrariums that because they are relatively small, they are a lovely way to inject a little bit of green into your home.

I made my first two earlier this year. I already had some glass jars/bowls and potting mix at home but needed some extra supplies. I actually ran all over Auckland trying to find activated charcoal which is needed if your glass vessel is enclosed (hint: big amounts can be found at pet shops for wee fishies or smaller amounts as a supplement in chemists), guessed what would be the best plants to choose at the local plant shop (no one knew anything about terrariums btw), grabbed some pebbles for drainage, and hoped it would all come together.

The result was this. Not too bad for a first effort I thought.

My first terrarium go-er
My first terrarium go-er

But after a couple of months some of the plants were looking a bit sad so not the best choice in plant selection methinks. So I tried again after getting inspired on Pinterest. I knew I could do better. The results were this:

I added some lovely quartz rose and amethyst stones for extra colour punch
I added some lovely quartz rose and amethyst stones for extra colour punch

I used succulent because they’re pretty hardy and should live with not too much interference from me and some teeny weeny house plants in different colours.

Here’s a few others I made although some aren’t really terrariums. I used an alabaster bowl I bought in Egypt and a wee pink vessel a friend gave me.

Blinging out the terrarium. You may not see but I added som gold leaves from an old necklace and a vintage dress clip to add a bit of sparkle
Blinging out the terrarium. You may not see but I added som gold leaves from an old necklace and a vintage dress clip to add a bit of sparkle

So that’s some terrarium love from me. You can check out lots of how to’s on my Pinterest page.

Happy terrarium Wednesday!

Alyssa

x

2 thoughts on “My little terrarium

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

