Hey little burger: homemade beef burgers

I think I could eat another right now...
I think I could eat another right now…

I don’t know if it’s because I’m iron deficient or that I haven’t had red meat (maybe a lee-tle bit of lamb) in a really loooooong time, but for the past few weeks I’ve been hankering for a decent, slap ’em up, Neanderthal proud, ship shape, beef burger.

The Hovis and I planned it for a Saturday night, a bit like a dinner + movie combo, and we were rubbing our hands in anticipation all week long.

The results weren’t fancy but they were delicious and easy peasy to make. This simple recipe is just for the beef patties, not the actual buns or anything.  So go on, you know you want to.

 Beef burger patties recipe:

  • Prime beef – the quantity depends on how many you want to make but I like to make spare and freeze extra
  • onion finely chopped – although if you’re like me, my onions tend to be more rustically chopped
  • 1x free range egg – happy hens means happy eggs!
  • fresh rosemary – I have a giant bush of rosemary in my garden and I use it all the time
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • A sprinkling of other Italian herbs (basil, thyme, marjoram, oregano etc)

Now comes the fun part. Moosh it all together with your hands (meticulously clean of course) so all ingredients are mixed well. Shape into the style and size of pattie you like. I like mine fairly large so it covers most of my hamburger bun (and because I’m greedy like that).

Heat olive oil in a heavy pan and cook these wee patties until well done. Test one of them by cutting open to check they’re not pink inside.

And then it’s a matter of assembling your burger together. We used a combination of homemade mustard and HP sauce to coat the buns, then added baby spinach, sliced pickles, red peppers, cheddar cheese, and beetroot slices to make our burgers Extra yummy.

Served up with some hand cut potato chips and a glass of Pinot Noir,  who can resist? I may have even been seen to eat a leftover beef pattie straight from the fridge the next day.

Alyssa

x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

