Inspiration: You’re just my type, alright?

Just my type
Just my type

Occasionally I have bouts of mini-obsessions. Nothing dangerous or illegal of course, but I get an idea in my head that I have to have a certain something and I won’t stop until I get it.

Take my lovely new but old 1960s Smith-Corona that I purchased for a pretty song on Trade Me. I was obsessed with the idea of using a typewriter, not for writing a masterpiece or anything, but having it as a tool to leave sweet notes to Hovi (and vice-versa) on. And visiting friends could leave funny notes, kind of like a guestbook. I thought that would be really cute in a wholesome, “The Waltons” sort of way. I wonder if I keep using the same paper until it runs out of lines would it tell a really funny story I could frame?

On Sunday I finally managed to insert a new typewriting ribbon (a long inky story).  I rewound the new ribbon onto the old ribbon boxes as the new one didn’t fit but I was determined MacGyver-like.

So, voila. Sometimes it’s nice to slow down and delay some much welcomed gratification. Who knows, maybe I’ll start writing letters instead of emails?

It seems I’m not the only one to have a love affair with typewriters…

Photos: Plant, Pink, Ribbon, Hello cards, Cufflinks, Print, Table
Photos: Plant, Pink, Ribbon, Hello cards, Cufflinks, Print, Table

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

