In the Kitchen: Chocolate Chip Polvorones

Chocolate chip polvorones

I’m always on the look out for new recipes and ideas and I happened to stumble upon this great little blog called Brave Tart (love the name).

I was in the mood for some biscuit making (when am I not I ask you) and saw this sweet recipe for Cocoa Nib Polvorones. I don’t know if it was the sprinkling of icing sugar that literally coats these biccies or the fact that I knew they would look perfect with my Grandma Merle’s tea set, or that I love how the word Pol-vo-ron-nes automatically makes me don a faux Spanish/Italian accent, but I knew I had to make them.

I didn’t have any cocao nibs or kosher salt so I used just regular chocolate chips and ordinary salt. Call me a rebel.

I love how the recipe is in ounces and that I had to weigh everything – not many baking recipes do this now. I think I prefer it.

Anyway, they were yummy. Like a soft, brownie texture in the inside and not too sweet, I swear. They were as Goldilocks says ‘just right’. Even Hovi, who doesn’t have a sweet tooth, ate three in a row. Brave Tart – you’re ace. And I promise next time I will use proper cocoa nibs.

Check out the full recipe here. If you make them, let me know!

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

