In the kitchen: Homemade strawberry jam

Strawberry jam large-3
For some strange reason I haven’t made strawberry jam until now. I can tell you not only is it easy peasy, it is sublimely delicious. And it smells like summer.

Fruit shops are practically over running with strawberries at the moment, and as I really love my berries it’s not surprising I’ve been gobbling them up left right and centre. I’ve even been growing a bunch of these red fruited lovelies in my garden, and although my crop isn’t exactly abundant (a few plucked here and there) I know I can pop down to my local shop to stock up.

But back to the all important jam. With three simple ingredients, a jar of homemade strawberry jam can be yours to eat within an hour or so.

Ingredients:
1x large pun net of strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
3x tablespoons of lemon juice

  • Make 1 1/2 cups of jam

Method:
Wash and hull strawberries. Place in a food processor until roughly chopped. Place in a medium sized pot and add sugar and lemon juice. Cook on a medium-high heat, stirring frequently, for approx 10 minutes until the jam is nice and thick – bubbles should form over the entire surface. Pour hot jam into a sterilised jar and cool. Make sure the jar is sealed. Store in the fridge, it should last for a few weeks.

Spread liberally over toast, between layers of sponge cake and cream, or if you’re like me, smear it on a slice of crumbly cheddar. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.

Alyssa
x

Related link:
Strawberry Cloud Cocktail

2 thoughts on “In the kitchen: Homemade strawberry jam

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

