In the kitchen: Banana and blueberry bread

Banana and blueberry bread

Yes, my berry obsession continues! This recipe is one happy marriage of bananas and blueberries.

I always seem to have overripe bananas languishing in my fruit bowl because I only like to eat slightly green bananas. Eating ripe bananas just makes me go ugh. You could call me picky but then how would I have ripe bananas for baking?

I love the tart bursts of blueberries contrasted with the mellow banana flavour of this bread. Some may call this a little too stodgy for the warmer months but I think the blueberries real lift the recipe to a whole other level.

You can toast it, eat it plain or smother a slice with lashings of butter. I won’t judge you I promise.

Recipe:

  • 300g of self-raising flour (or if you’re like me and have run out of self-raising, add 3/4 of a teaspoon of baking powder to some plain flour)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 140g of soft brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 2 eggs gently whisked
  • 50g of melted butter, cool not hot
  • 1 cup of blueberries
  • 3 overipe medium bananas mashed (doesn’t have to be smooth, in fact a bit lumpy is just fine)

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees. Grease a loaf dish with with some softened margarine. Line the bottom and sides with baking paper.

Sift the flour and cinnamon into a bowl and add the sugar. Stir gently together then make a well in the middle. Add the milk, the eggs and melted butter into the dry ingredients and combine well. Add the mashed bananas and blueberries until just combined. Pour the batter into the loaf dish.

Bake for 40 minutes or until it’s a little golden brown on top and a cake skewer comes out cleanly. Remove from the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes. Turn onto a wire rack to cool completely. Then tuck right in.

What have you been baking lately?

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

