The year of having fun

The year of fun

Everyone loves a clean slate and the New Year always feels shiny and clean, like receiving a get out of jail free card to start afresh, do some planning, write down some goals and toast new beginnings.

This year I decided against the normal resolutions. 2014, I’ve decided, is going to be the year of having fun. To going on holidays and mini weekend breaks. To going to more concerts and shows (hello Dolly Parton!). To enjoying more dinners and lunches at fabulous restaurants and cafes. Swimming at different beaches. Eating lots of cake and drinking that cocktail dammit. To try more stuff. Do more stuff. And simply have a whole lot of fun along the way.

2013 was all about standing still, my feet concreted in terra firma. It was about dodging a slow bullet and not making any sudden moves.

Why? I had an operation before Christmas last year for a cancerous brain tumour. It was a fairly large little sucker but I couldn’t have asked for a better recovery post operation even though the radiation was a bit yuk. However, that kind of tumour can come back so I have scans every 3-4 months to check on my brain (not to brag but it’s pretty good looking). The scans are sometimes nerve racking but peace of mind follows afterwards.

But enough with the boo hoos because for the first time in a long time I feel like my feet are moving (skipping) forwards and my world is a shiny happy place.

Cheers to that.

Here’s to a fun 2014.

Alyssa
x

6 thoughts on “The year of having fun

  1. Hello my name is Aprea Roberto if you want to see my facebook for to write differents news of this new year 2014…this is a good number!!! and enjoy of this week end for all…thanks very much …bye bye….

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

