In the kitchen: Homemade hummus

Homemade hummus

I simply love hummus and find I can easily scoff down a tub in lickety split time. Whether it’s just as a snack with carrots and other vegetables, or as an accompaniment with meat, I just love the texture and taste.

Recently I had to stay my hand from reaching for another tub of hummus at the supermarket and decided I should actually try my hand at making some instead. And that’s just what I did. It’s pretty simple too.

Ingredients:
600g canned chickpeas
2 tbls tahini
3 cloves of crushed garlic
Juice of one small lemon
1 tsp geound cumin
250mls extra virgin olive oil
Rock salt to taste

>Method:

Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Place all ingredients into a food processor. Blitz until mixed and smooth. Taste and season more if need be.

Serve with vegetables or bread. I made some kumura (sweet potato chips) to serve with mine. Simply slice fine slices of kumura, add extra virgin olive oil and rock salt, and fanbake in an oven at 170 degrees for 20 minutes or so.

If you manage to have any leftover, it can keep in the fridge for three days or so.

Next time I want to try a low carb version which actually substitutes the chick peas for zucchini – sounds mad made right?!

Enjoy!

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

