In the Kitchen: Strawberry and chocolate cheesecake

Strawberry and chocolate cheesecake v2

If you saw my post this past Monday, you would have seen me skiting about this decadently and delicious concoction I made for a Sunday high tea celebration.

Because there were a few dietary requirements in Hovi’s family, this cheesecake is both dairy and gluten free. Crazy huh? It looks like the full fat deal I know!

I did have to hunt down a few key ingredients such as the dairy free cream cheese (bought the lucky last tub at Huckleberry Farm – phew) and who knew that cashew nuts are so expensive? Luckily I had most of the other ingredients in the pantry.

The ingredients may be a bit more costly than your average cheesecake, but for a special occasion it was worth it. And while the time it took to make wasn’t a quick flash in the pan, I was so happy with the end result. And no baking required! Just setting time in the fridge. I even managed to transport the cheesecake in the car just as you see it in the photo above. This cheesecake ain’t no delicate wallflower but it is as pretty as a picture.

I wish I could claim this recipe as mine but I owe that to the lovely Chelsea Winter of MasterChef NZ fame – on her website she has a whole lot of equally delicious recipes to try out. And follow her on Facebook – she is equal parts hilarious and genius in the kitchen. Huzah!

Check out the how to in Chelsea’s recipe here.

Comedy and baking. The two definitely go hand in hand.

Alyssa
x

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Strawberry and chocolate cheesecake

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

