My vintage find: Silverware

Vintage silverware-2

One of my vintage dreams is to own a beautiful canteen of cutlery. You know, the kind that posh characters use in dinner scenes in Downton Abbey or any Merchant and Ivory period film.

But before then, I’m quite happy to collect bits and pieces of silver to grace my table.

I’ve inherited bits and pieces from my mum which I love, and I’ve picked up a few silver treasures from various places such as Trade Me and second hand stores.

I also bought a lovely art deco wooden box of cutlery that had me swooning (a teeny tiny canteen as it were). It was incomplete unfortunately so I’m looking for some matching pieces to make it a usable set. I also found a bunch of tarnished silverware to bring back to life. I love to think about the previous owners and what meals and celebrations these silverware were once part of. Call me nostalgic!

What have you been collecting lately?

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

