In the kitchen: Fruit and nut bliss balls

Bliss balls
Most mornings Hovi and I have a fruit smoothie to start the day which serves a dual purpose of filling us up for breakkie and for feeling healthy and virtuous. For the smoothies, we’ve either been using a combo of water and dairy milk or water and almond milk.I sure love my almond milk. But rather than use store bought stuff, I like to make my own. Remember this yummy chocolate almond milkshake? Yum-o.

But what to with the leftover pulp? All it is is really left over nuts and water and it seems a shame to leave the pulp to waste. One of the things I’ve been making as a healthy snack is some bliss balls. I have no idea why they’re called bliss balls but I do know they taste pretty good. And healthy.

With a recent pulp-over of almond milk making, I foraged through my pantry drawers to see what I could find. Here’s what I came up with.

Ingredients:

2 cups of left over nut pulp from almond milk making (or you can use almond meal)
1/4 cup of dried figs
1/2 cup dates
1/4 cup pistachios – blitzed into a rough powder
1/4 cup dried mango
1/4 cup cocao nibs
1/2 cup desiccated coconut plus extra for rolling

1 tbls coconut oil

Method:
Soak figs, mango and dates in warm water for at least 15 minutes, then blitz until a smooth paste in a food processor. Add almond milk pulp and the rest of the ingredients.  Combine until mixed together well. Roll 1 inch balls between your palms then roll in some coconut. They are great to freeze so use them as you need them.

For some other recipes I’ve crumbled across check out the lovely Julia and Libby who have some yummy recipes.

Alyssa
x

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

