In the kitchen: Almond butter

Almond butter-2

It’s no secret that I love almonds – raw, as milk or covered in chocolate – I love it all.

One way I like my almonds is when they’re transformed into butter but when I try to buy a jar, it’s usually at such an exorbitant price that I’m literally on my knees in the supermarket beseeching the gods “whyyyyyyyy so much, whyyyyyyyy?!”

So I decided to make my own and save myself a zillion dollars in the process. First off I bought some bulk raw almonds and went to work.

Ingredients:
2 cups of raw almonds (or buy them already roasted but unsalted)
1/2 tsp rock salt

Makes 2 cups of almond butter.

Method:

Heat oven to about 180 degrees celsius and roast the almonds in the oven for 10 minutes or so. Remove and cool.

Blitz them in a food processor for about a minute, then scrape down the sides and keep blitzing for a good 2-3 minutes. By this stage the almonds should appear creamier.

Add the rock salt then continue to blitz away for a few more minutes. If you have a more powerful processor than me you’ll probably find this process happens much more quickly.

Once the almonds are completely peanut butter creamy like, stop processing and scoop into a jar. It should keep in the fridge for a good couple of weeks (but if you’re like me it won’t last nearly that long).

Pop it on toast, crackers, use it in baking or eat it straight from the jar (I promise I won’t tell anyone).

Alyssa
x

One thought on “In the kitchen: Almond butter

Please leave a Reply. Thank you!

